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INSTRUCTIONS FOR NYPD RETIREES 

 

Please note: these instructions apply to NYPD retirees who are New York City residents only. 

 

We recommend that approximately 2 weeks prior to your anticipated retirement processing date that you 

hand-deliver the following materials to the License Division Retiree Section, One Police Plaza, Room 110A: 

 

 A completed handgun license application form (PD 643-041). This form must be typed. There is a form-

fillable .pdf file available for download on the License Division Retiree web page for this purpose. 

 One (1) recent color passport-type photograph (1 ½ x 1 ½ inches), front view. 

 A non-refundable fingerprint fee of $89.75 which may be paid by credit card or money order (Postal or U.S. 

Bank). Money orders should be made payable to the “New York City Police Department.” This fee must be 

paid by all applicants. 

 The completed Firearm Removal Inquiry form, the Affidavit of Familiarity with Rules and Laws form, 

the Acknowledgement of Person Agreeing to Safeguard Firearms form and the Affidavit of Co-Habitant 

form. 

 

On Your Retirement Processing Date: 

 

 First, report to the Police Pension Fund, 233 Broadway, 19
th
 floor, New York, NY. 

 Next, report to the License Division Retiree Section, 1 Police Plaza, Room 110A, with your ID card stamped 

“Retired.” 

 All NYC Police Department retirees must submit their Pistol License Inquiry Response form (PD 643-155) 

and their Property Receipt/Discontinuance of Service form (PD 520-013). You are not required to voucher 

your firearms if you have received a Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act Firearm Certification Card or 

your license will be issued on your retirement date. 

 Follow instructions of License Division personnel regarding license issuing procedure. 

 

Important Note: When you deliver your handgun license application documents, you must inform the License 

Division of your anticipated retirement date. 

 

A retired law enforcement handgun license will not be issued to you if your did not receive a Pistol License Inquiry 

Response form (PD 643-155) a.k.a “good-guy letter, “ of if your ID card is stamped “No Firearms.” To obtain a 

retired law enforcement license, you must have the restriction lifted prior to receiving a license. 

 

If you have any questions concerning your application, please call (646) 610-5536.  

 

Applications must be submitted in person at the license division, Room 110A, Monday through Friday between the 

hours of 0830 to 1600 hours. 
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