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 DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND 
WORKER PROTECTION (DCWP) 
LICENSING CENTER 
42 Broadway, Lobby  
New York, NY 10004  

 

By Appointment Only Hours: 
 

Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. 
Last appointment: 3:30 p.m. 

NYC SMALL BUSINESS  
SUPPORT CENTER 
90-27 Sutphin Blvd, 4th Floor 
Jamaica, NY 11435 

 
 

By Appointment Only Hours: 
 

Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. 
Last appointment: 3:30 p.m. 

 

IN-PERSON SERVICE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY 
 

You must schedule an appointment to submit your license application in person at the DCWP 
Licensing Center and NYC Small Business Support Center. See Application Filing Process 
section. 
 

Note: As in-person service is limited, we encourage you to use our online service which is 
available 24/7 at nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox. 

 

Sightseeing Guide License Application Checklist 
 

Who Must Have a Sightseeing Guide License? 

 
You must have a Sightseeing Guide license to guide or direct people to any place or point of 
public interest or to describe, explain, or lecture about any place or point of public interest to 
any person in connection with any sightseeing trip or tour within the city.  
 
Sightseeing Guide applicants must be at least 18 years old. 
 
This description is only a general explanation of who must have a Sightseeing Guide 
license.  
 

Quick List of Requirements to Apply for a Sightseeing Guide License 
See Requirements section for detailed descriptions. Make sure you provide all 
requirements; otherwise, your application is incomplete. DCWP can only consider complete 
applications for license issuance. 

 
 Basic Individual License Application 

 
 Photo Identification (ID) of License Applicant 

 
 One Current Color Passport-size Photograph of License Applicant 
 
 Sightseeing Guide Exam and $50 Exam Fee 

 
 Granting Authority to Act Affirmation (if applicable) 

 
 License Fee  

 
Submitting your application does not mean your license is automatically approved. 
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Additional City or State Permits/Licenses/Clearances You May Need: 

 
A business must have a DCWP Sightseeing Bus license to drive a vehicle that carries eight 
or more paying passengers to places of interest or amusement or for a specific or special trip 
from a starting point within New York City. 
 
This is not meant to be a complete list. See Additional Resources section. 

 
Application Filing Process 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 

  
 

 

 
Go to www.nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox to submit your application online. 
  
OR 
 
Schedule an appointment to file in person at the DCWP Licensing Center 
or NYC Small Business Support Center (addresses on page 1).  
 
By Email: LicensingAppointments@dcwp.nyc.gov  
By Phone*: Call (212) 436-0441. (Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.) 
 
*This number is to schedule an appointment for in-person service only.  
For general questions, email onlineappsdocs@dcwp.nyc.gov. 
 
Free Interpretation Services are available on-site. To request a  
disability-related accommodation, please email DCWP’s Americans  
with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator at 
DCWPADACoordinator@dcwp.nyc.gov    
or visit nyc.gov/dcwp and search “accommodations.” 

 
Requirements  
   
DCWP will deny your application if you do not submit these required documents and 
information:  

 

• Basic Individual License Application (attached). 
 

• Photo Identification (ID) of License Applicant. 
            
           Acceptable forms of ID include: 
 

o Driver’s license or non-driver’s license identification issued by any state  
in the U.S.   

o License or permit issued by a government agency 
o Passport 
o Alien card/green card 
o City, State, or Federal employee ID card 
o Municipal ID card 

http://www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/businesses/licenses.page
mailto:LicensingAppointments@dcwp.nyc.gov
mailto:onlineappsdocs@dcwp.nyc.gov
mailto:DCWPADACoordinator@dcwp.nyc.gov
https://www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/about/accommodations.page
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• One Current Color Passport-size Photograph of License Applicant. 
 

In Person: DCWP will photograph license applicants at no cost in the DCWP 
Licensing Center (address on page 1). Applicants can also submit a current color 
passport-size photograph. 

 
           Online: License applicants can upload an image file of digital passport photo  

quality. A digital camera with a resolution of 1 mega-pixel is adequate. 
 

• Sightseeing Guide Exam and $50 Exam Fee.  
You must schedule an appointment with ExamBuilder to take the Sightseeing Guide 
Exam.  
 
IMPORTANT: 

o You can schedule the exam 24 hours after DCWP has processed your 
completed license application, which includes required documents and fees. 
You cannot schedule the exam until DCWP has received and processed 
required documents and payments. Once DCWP has processed your 
application, it takes 24 hours for your information to appear in ExamBuilder’s 
system. 

o You have 60 days to take and pass the exam from the time your 
information appears in ExamBuilder’s system.   

o Test Centers are open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. seven days a week in 
multiple locations citywide. ExamBuilder can confirm available locations 
when you schedule your exam. 

o You can schedule the exam in ONE of two ways: 
 

1. Online at dcaschedule.exambuilder.com. Enter your Application Number, 
then click Continue.  
▪ You can find Application Number on your License Application 

Confirmation Page or payment receipt. 
 

2. By phone: (646) 974-8244  
▪ Customer service is available from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. seven days a 

week. 
 
The exam consists of 150 questions. You must answer a minimum of 97 questions 
correctly to pass. The $50 exam fee is separate from the license fee and is 
nonrefundable. If you fail the exam twice, you must pay the exam fee again in order 
to retake the exam.   
 
Visit nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox for FAQs: Exams and a Study Reference to help 
you prepare for the exam. 
 

• Granting Authority to Act Affirmation (attached). 
Required if someone other than the license applicant will prepare and submit this 
application. 
 

           Note: The applicant must sign the license application and all related forms. 

https://dcaschedule.exambuilder.com/
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• License Fee. 
 

License 
Period: 
2 years 

Expiration 
Date: 
March 31 
Even Years 

License Fee: 

If You File Your Application 
Between These Dates: 

Option 1 Option 2 

From April 1 in an even year to 
September 30 in an even year 

Pay $50 for a license 
expiring March 31 of the 
next even year. 
(Valid for at most  
24 months.) 

 

From October 1 in an even year 
to March 31 in an odd year 

Pay $38 for a license 
expiring March 31 of the 
soonest even year. 
(Valid for at most  
18 months.) 

 

From April 1 in an odd year to 
September 30 in an odd year  
 
 
 

Pay $25 for a license 
expiring March 31 of the 
soonest even year. 
(Valid for at most  
12 months.) 

 

From October 1 in an odd year to 
March 31 in an even year 

Pay $13 for a license 
expiring March 31 of the 
soonest or same even 
year.  
(Valid for at most  
6 months.) 

Pay $63 for a license 
expiring March 31 of the 
following even year. 
(Valid for at most  
30 months.) 

    
Pay by: 
 

o Check or money order payable to DCWP. (In person) 
 

o Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card only).  
You will be charged a nonrefundable Convenience Fee. (In person or online) 

 
Additional Resources for Sightseeing Guides  

      

• For the laws and rules that may affect your business, visit nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox. 
 

• For Inspection Checklist: Sightseeing Bus, visit nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox. 
 

• For resources to help your business open, operate, and grow, visit nyc.gov/business. 
 
 

 


